What will I need initially do to this?

I’m looking to incorporate a little automation into my home. Nothing too crazy initially.
Here’s my requirement list:

1. Covert at least 3 existing switches with dimmable switches. Automation will be nice too.
  • The switches control recessed lights in groups of 5, 2, and 2 respectively.
  • Currently they use Halogen B30 bulbs. Seems LED might be something everyone will use in 5 - 10 years so a switch that can handle LED might be a good idea, but I rather like the light that the halogen bulbs give off and don’t plan on switching anytime soon.
  • The current switch(es?) have 4 wire connections in the back. I’m no electrical engineer but I think this means I have a ‘neutral’ wire?
  • There are is only 1 switch that controls the lighting for each respective area.
  • I’d like the switch to be dimmable and useable even without any z-wave/etc connectivity.
  1. Convert outdoor lights to connect to a VeraLite (or similar). Either with Z-Wave, Insteon, or whatever is recommended.
    Lights can be controlled with Vera based on time and/or motion.

Other non-immediate possible uses:

• I plan on getting a Foscam to use as a baby monitor. Might be nice to use it for a driveway camera or security camera later since the driveway is not visible while inside the house.
  • I have ADT (newer wireless module). I actually think converting to a homemade system might save some $$ and still suit our needs.
  • Garage Door Automation. I have 2 Chamberlain Formula I openers. I don’t know if it’s possible (they are probably 12-13 years old), but it would be nice to have remote control of them. At the very least, some sort of alert to say if the doors are open. The garage is attached and temperatures can be -10 to -20F in the winter so pipes freezing when someone forgot to close the door is a possibility.
  • Setup a scene for the dedicated home theater in the basement

Current setup:

• Home built in '99
  • Cable modem (Motorola Surfboard)