What happen if my Vera3 or Veralite controller get broken?

Hi, i’m very new to this home automation world.

I getting a new house, and I want to get a controller and some lighting control for a start. I

But what happen if the controller, say a Vera3 or a Verlite controller get broken?
For example:
would z-wave light switch work?
would a z-wave lock that have a keypad work?

Thanks for your help

Z-Wave switches, locks, and most other Z-Wave devices will continue to work, manually. You can push the switch and the light will come on.

Automations, schedules, notifications, remote control all rely on the controller so if Vera breaks you lose those things.

Regular back ups would allow for you to restore to a new / repaired unit if this was ever to happen and is general good practise given once you get started you will likely have quite a complex set up after some months tweaking your system to how you like it.

Thank you.
Can the vera line work in active/standby so I can have 2 units?

No. There is no active/standby option. What do you want a Beowulf cluster of Veras?

What you can do, if you really wanted to, is maintain a regular backup of your Vera’s configuration, as described by @LightsOn, and a second Vera device. Should the primary Vera fail, you take the second one out of the box, restore the backup to it and you’re running again in 30 minutes or less.

[quote=“amareto, post:4, topic:181170”]Thank you.
Can the vera line work in active/standby so I can have 2 units?[/quote]

If Vera stops working your house functions the same as before you had Vera, Lights locks and everything work just like it did before Vera Manually.