Using Public or Free WiFi for Vera Lite

I’m new to Vera but I spent a good bit of time researching a solution for our Myrtle Beach rental condo to control the door lock and thermostat. I’ll try to get right to the point. I wanted a solution that could make use of the multiple free or public wifi signals that are available on the resort property. We DO NOT have our own personal internet service in our condo so by default we don’t have a router to plug in a Vera Lite unit.

First, let me say that the marketing/advertising/specifications for Vera Lite is pretty poor when it comes to being clear about the unit’s wireless capabilities. The unit DOES require it to be plugged directly into your router all the time. The way it’s written it sounds like you might be able to configure it plugged in and then unplug it and move it. This is not true. It must be hard wired with an ethernet cable all the time.

Here’s my solution and I would appreciate some feedback to point out any flaws since I’m new and security is top of mind. Again, there is FREE/PUBLIC wifi available and the signal is strong. I bought a NETGEAR N300 WiFi Range Extender.

There are other similar range extenders but this one has the necessary ethernet port that you will need to plug in your vera lite. And it was only about $50.

The first thing to do was configure the wifi range extender. This was so easy and Netgear did a real good job of creating an interface that runs from your computer that allows you to configure it quickly and easily. So this essentially creates your own PRIVATE network piggybacking off the PUBLIC signal. As a side note, I like that I can now use the public wifi at the resort and it be secure going through the extender. Be sure to set up the security options when you go through the Netgear setup. Now you have a private and password protected network of your own.