Unable to extend Z-Wave Network to Door Locks

Hello, everyone. Just joined the community today, first post. I spent some time searching and reading. Please help, as I’m new to Z-Wave.

I don’t use Z-Wave or Vera 3 for any purpose other than controlling a couple Kwikset and Yale Z-Wave locks. For two years, the Vera 3 was within 15 feet of the locks and they all worked flawlessly.

I have moved and Vera 3 cannot be close enough to all four Z-Wave locks. I had no other Z-Wave devices to propagate a network, so I added two GE 45605 Z-Wave outlets (I read that they support beaming). I added the outlets to Vera, went to Setup>Z-Wave Settings>Repair, unchecked the “Re-configure all the devices when done” checkbox and clicked go and allowed the process to complete. The GE 45605’s are about twenty feet apart from each other and Vera and 10 feet to the locks. Could not reach the locks.

Forum searches had indicated positive results using the Aeon Labs DSD37 Z-Wave extenders, so I added two of those, did a network heal, and still cannot reach the locks.

During the network heal I noticed a number of “0 good routes out of 0” messages in the status bar, so I checked the Restore Z-Wave Network checkbox and restored to a known good time a week ago. Removed then re-added the Aeon DSD37s and still cannot reach the locks.

Since I don’t use Z-Wave for any other purpose, I don’t have a builtin infrastructure for propagation… just looking for the most reliable way to extend the network from Vera 3 to a number of exterior doors in a larger home.

Until a few days ago this Vera 3 unit was operating four Z-Wave locks within about 18 feet flawlessly. I happen to have a second unused Vera 3 unit in a box… I could try setting up that unit instead with the Aeon Extenders.

Any suggestions for me? Thanks!

Have you thought about adding an external antenna on the vera for the z-wave network to get better coverage?