Triggering a Scene with only Luup code

I’m trying to create a scene using LuuP code only with no events, timers, or commands. I’m new to scene programming and trying to see if this Luup code works. The plan is to be able to have the Luup code test if a certain light is on then turn a different light on. Essentially, when the first light is turned on (by some other action - manual or programmed), then I want the other light to be turned on.

I tried triggering the scene by manually turning device 58 on from the UI, it turns on as expected, but the scene/code doesn’t seem to run as device 59 never comes on.

The first light (device #58) is an X-10 appliance module (I have the Insteon 2413U working fine to control some older X10 devices that I have not upgraded yet). The second light is an X10 Dimmable module.

I tried putting the code in the Test LuuP Code dialog box per the wiki instructions and after hitting Go, it said that the code was sent successfully.

the Luup code I am using is:

local rope_light = luup.variable_get("urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight1","Status",58) if (rope_light == "1" ) then luup.call_action("urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:DimmableLight1","SetLoadLevelTarget",{LoadLevelTarget = "80"}, 59) end

Device 58 has the following variables from the Advanced tab: LoadLevelTarget, LoadLevelStatus, Status and Target, and has device_type=urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight:1

Device 59 has the following same varaibles as the appliance module. It has a devie_type = urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:DimmableLight:1

Is the code correct for what I am trying to do?

You’ll have to use serviceId’s (like: [font=courier]urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1[/font]).

I made the changes as you mentioned.

I am trying to have this code (modified with serviceId’s) in a scene. I can get the functionality I want by defining commands and events in the scene. When event #58 goes on, then command #59 executes. That works - but not with the LuuP code.