Thermostat Recomendations "Smart" vs. "Programable"

Let me preface this by saying that I although I am highly proficient in the use of technology, I am still a beginner when it comes to home automation.

I am looking at replacing my home thermostats (I have 2 indepenent zones each with its own thermostat). I have been doing a lot of research on the various options available but would like more input from experienced users in regards to the benefits/drawbacks of going with a smart thermostat such as Nest or Ecobee vs. a progrmable z-wave thermostat such as Trane TZ400BB3VZNNSL or Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007/U

what can i gain from using one vs. the other?

what functionality do i give up?

can you give me some examples of thermostat applications you have used besides the typical “turn on at x time”?

thanks

I suppose it boils down to what features you desire and what ones you don’t want. Also What kind of HVAC system you have or intend to have. You don’t want to get a thermostat that will not be compatible with the new Multistage systems if you plan to upgrade your HVAC unit.

Zwave only thermostats communicate only via a zwave controller. I don’t think it is all that much a issue anymore with all the cross platform control that Vera offers.

Nest is a learning one on the market. It anticipates what temp you want and when. It’s now a Google product and that concerns me. It has a very simple user interface. That is good.

Honeywell , ecobee and others can seem more complex as all the info on the touch screen.
They all work well.

A Wifi stat may have non Zwave features like Weather info, outside temp and such right on the display.

[quote=“zmistro, post:2, topic:184794”]I suppose it boils down to what features you desire and what ones you don’t want. Also What kind of HVAC system you have or intend to have. You don’t want to get a thermostat that will not be compatible with the new Multistage systems if you plan to upgrade your HVAC unit.