SOLVED! Altsteon setup help

I am really new with HA and Vera and this is the first challenging tool I have tried to add. I have read through all of the posts about setting up altsteon multiple times and I am still having problems. thank you for everyone who has added input. I’m not sure where I have gone wrong. in the ssh commands I can access the command “/overlay/sbin/altsteon -p /dev/ttyUSB0” and get the response “starting altsteon”. so I think the daemon is running on vera ok. but I’m not 100 percent sure to how to test it by controling the plm directly through the daemon.

I have uploaded all of the files through the add luup files browser in the vera ui. the devices I added don’t show any control options, but in the settings I get some additional options: see attachment.

the plm device settings has the insteon logo but no control options. i did have a question about the ip address, some documentation stated to use 127.0.0.1 and some documentation that states to use the vera ip address. they are not the same for me. which is the right one?

I thought I would get options to control my device (fanlinc) in the device ui. any help would be very appriciated.