Plugin for Vantage lighting system - How to update dimmer in UI?

Hello, I’m a total Vera/Luup newb as of last weekend and I have a question about a custom plugin I’m working on.

I have an older Vantage lighting automation system with a RS-232 port. No web or phone apps, just keypads and scenes. My buddy just bought a Vera 3, and he let me play with it for the week, so I decided to take a shot at writing a plugin to interface with the vantage master controller. Made good progress. I got a usb-to-serial adapter working in Vera with minimal frustration. Then, I wrote custom device and implementation files for the Vantage control unit, and set this parent device up to create child dimmer devices for the lighting loads in my system on startup. I implemented custom SetLoadLevelTarget action that uses run, job, and incoming code to control a light, listen for the response code from the Vantage system, and log the results.

After a little tinkering, everything works great with one exception: the dimmer devices don’t display status correctly in UI5. I would expect this would be a challenge if I changed a light setting from a keypad on the wall (though the Vantage unit does provide a capability to send RS-232 updates when this occurs). However, I can’t seem to figure out why the icons and %s won’t update even when I control the light from UI5. I can’t find the code that controls the UI (other than the dimmer json file), and I can’t find any dimmer actions or variables that result in UI updates.

Ideally, I’d like to have the UI reflect my actions, and I’d like to force UI updates when light levels changed external to Vera. Anyone have thoughts on how to make this work? Thanks.

It would helps us if you posted your code files so we can look at what is going on. What service are you setting for the Dimmer value? Are you setting the value for the correct child device? With out any code to look at, it is very hard to know what is going on and to provide any help.

• Garrett