PLEG - SetVariable Action

I am stumped trying to pass a value to a VariableContainer field using PLEG.

I have a DeviceProperty Front_Time that reads a variable from VContainer1, and I would like to write the value to VContainer2. Persently the value reported by Status for Front_Time is 40, so I would like for “40” to appear in VContainer 2.

For the Action, I selected the Advanced tab, selected VContainer 2, selected SetVariable1, and put {(Front_Time)} in the blank field (as explained in the PLEG Basics document). What appears in VContainer2 is “{(Front_Time)}”.

I also tried {Front_Time}, b[/b] and Front_Time, in each case the VContainer2 field was populated with exactly what I wrote in the Advanced tab field, not the value of Front_Time.

Feels like I am missing something obvious.

Thanks,
Tom Williams

Please post your status report …

Status report attached.

I am trying to write the contents of a Device Property to an external device (Variable Container).

I am not a programmer, so most of this stuff takes a while for me to catch on.

Great software, by the way!

Tom

I have still never been able to put a device property value into a field in the Advanced tab of a PLEG Action. The “PLEG Basics” document says this:

More complex device actions can be defined on the ADVANCED tab. Here you can select the device on the Pick a device: pull-down and then click Add. Now there is a pull-down containing all of the device actions supported by the device. When you select one, if it requires a parameter, a blank field will appear. Enter the required parameter in this field. The parameter may be a number or a string depending on the selected device action. This is where you can enter {(yourexpression)} if you want the parameter value to be calculated by PLEG using yourexpression.