Newbie needing guidance on using Vera Alerts

Hi everyone,

I’ve read the forums and looked at Richard’s guidance on using Vera Alerts, but I’m new to Vera and have UI7 and I’ve found a lot of the instructions/screenshots refer to maybe UI5/6? as many of them refer to advanced tabs that simply aren’t there in UI7. I think I’ve set everything up OK as I can send myself a test message using android phone TTS but I can’t seem to set anything up for normal action’s e.g when front door is opened to say “Front door open”. I’ve found the basic LUA code on Richards page for the command but can someone explain where I’m suppose to put it? I’ve tried the 2 different places for LUA in scenes - still not sure what the difference is in those anyway?!) screen shots would be really helpful!. i’d be happy to create a scene, but then can’t find VeraAlerts in the devices list (and I know someone else explained this but I don’t have the tabs they are referring to either!)

Any help appreciated - need it in easy language though as I’m not a techy person at all, but learning!

Manythanks

A couple of things:

1. All the tabs are there on UI7, you might need to scroll down on the device page.
  2. Go to the “Settings Page” for Vera Alerts Plugin
    Make Sure “Process Notifications” is checked.
  3. For Each User on Lower Left of Settings. (At least two: default, and your Vera Login User. More if you have more than one Vera Login account for the Vera)
    Associate a Vera Alerts Profile. (Lower Right of Settings)
  4. Look at the report on the Control Tab … that will show what notifications are setup … and how.
  5. To setup a notification:
    a) Goto the Device … i.e. your Front Door
    b) Goto the Notification Tab for that Device.
    c) Create the desired notification … Send to one (or more) User Accounts (These are Vera user account(s)).
  6. After you add/remove/change any Notification you must go to the “Notification Configuration” tab.