Newb Trying to Turn On and Off Light Switch With One Sceen Controller Button

I have searched and found a few ways to do this but I am new to the programming stuff and would like to know the least messy way to do this.

I have kind of settled on this code I found for using a virtual switch in a different thread:

status = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:VSwitch1","Status", DEVICE_ID) if(status=="1")then luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:VSwitch1", "SetTarget", {newTargetValue = "0"}, DEVICE_ID) else luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:VSwitch1", "SetTarget", {newTargetValue = "1"}, DEVICE_ID) end

Basically I want to turn my living room light on and off using one button on my scene controller. Can I use this code in a single scene to turn on/off a light switch directly also?

I know I would have to replace the “VSwitch1” and “DEVICE_ID” with my switch values, but I’m not sure how exactly it should look when I’m done.

Here is my switch info:

If this is possible, what should the completed code look like? Are there any other better ways to do this? I just dont wan’t a bunch of scenes to perform this simple action. Thanks for your help.

Which scene controller are you using?

Also, you can toggle a device using the GUI, no code required. See this post.

I purchased a Cooper Aspire RFWDC 5-Scene controller.

I did not have enough wires in my electrical box to install the GE 45610 Aux switch to my 3-way setup so I figured the scene controller in the aux switch location would give me more options anyway.

Thanks for the link. I had not found that one yet.

Thanks; I don’t have that device. But if Vera is able to distinguish between ‘a scene is activated’ and ‘a scene is de-activated’, you would set up a scene for each event, and turn the light on and off, respectively.

Could I just use “a scene is activated” trigger and “a scene is de-activated” trigger on the same scene so no matter when I press the button the light will toggle?