New Architecture for X10 PLI Plugins

Not sure how much interest there would be in this, as I’m not sure how many people are still using X10 devices with Vera. As I pointed out in another post, I am fairly new to Vera and my house is almost all X10 controlled and I was using MisterHouse for years. I purchased the Vera and an Insteon PLM when I read it could be backwards compatible with my X10. I plan to eventually convert most everything to Z-Wave, but it will take some time.

I was disappointed to see that the support provided by the Insteon device was not very good. No 2-way communication with my 2-way devices, long lag times before switching on/off stuff, and not good support for dimming switches.

I was happy when I found this thread by yoocesar,

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,10817.0.html

especially since my controller is a CM11A. I installed the plugin and it for the most part worked well, much better than the Insteon PLM.

Being a software developer by trade, I of course wanted to learn and understand luup and immediately started dissecting the plugin to learn and improve upon it. Some of the changes I incorporated were:

Support for extended dim switches
Support for SmartLinc switches (preset dim)
Better standard X10 dimming support.
Make the plugin actually listen and check checksums and acks sent by the CM11.
Have it update status properly from extended/presetdim info received over the PLM.

When that was all done and working, I began to look at the overall architecture of the plugin. I noticed that anytime I wanted to add a new type of X10 device, I would have to hard code support for it into the plugin. This seemed not quite right, as the CM11 is just a PLI. It should just send and receive X10 commands regardless of what kind of device is using it. So I set out to split up the functionality and make something that could be used not just for the CM11, but any X10 PLI (CM17, etc).