Need a thermostat for a 4 zone radiant heating system

Hello - I am new to Vera and anxiously awaiting my Vera 3. I have been using insteon and through a discussion with a smarthome tech found out about Vera which lead me to cancel my order for ISY… ;D

Anyway I am looking into to manage my vacation rental house that has radiant heating. The house has 4 zones for heating with No AC or forced air systems at all - just boiler, pumps and values.

I think most of the z waver thermostats I have looked at seem overly complex for what I need - I simple need a thermostat where the temperature drops below some set point the send turns on. All of the thermostats that offer programming are nice for forced air systems but not necessary with a radiate floor system.

Are there any simple z wave thermostats available?

Other ideas?

Thanks Jason

[quote=“yoabear, post:1, topic:169761”]Are there any simple z wave thermostats available?

Other ideas?

Thanks Jason[/quote]

Hello and welcome, I’ve been going down the route of heating control for the last month or so and have made a few false starts!

I decided to use the Everspring temperature sensor rather than a thermostat and let Vera send the commands to turn the heating on or off which let me use different scenes at different times of day to set varied set points through the day.

It was a steeper learning curve than I expected but the good folks on the forum have been a big help.

The first problem was the Everspring not updating Vera often enough, Vera rounds it to the nearest degree C and the Everspring was saving it’s battery and failing to send every change in temperature, this led to far too big a swing.

Chris, a regular poster here, has put an “easy to use” interface for a wired temperature sensor using a “one wire server” which is working excellently with regular updates and 0.1C resolution.