Mixing brands - scene controllers and switches, dimmers?

Hi -

Newbie here.

I just purchased some of the ebay Intermatic dimmers and wanted to see if I could use those dimmers with another brand’s scene controller. I’d like to have a couple of 4-way scene controllers, but I don’t see any by Intermatic (just the single switch scene controller CA5100).

Would the Intermatic dimmers work with, say, the Levitron scene controller?

Thanks!

I believe you should verify each combination you wish to interact with …
Vendor’s do not always play well with each other.

[quote=“RichardTSchaefer, post:2, topic:175216”]I believe you should verify each combination you wish to interact with …
Vendor’s do not always play well with each other.[/quote]
How do you do that? Just buy and try?

Or wait for someone to respond with Intermatic dimmers and a working solution for a Scene Controller to respond.
[hr]
What I meant to convey in my post is that this is likely to be vendor specific … and the answer to your question requires a person, experienced with the same hardware, to respond … that reduces the set of people that will be able to answer you.

[quote=“RichardTSchaefer, post:4, topic:175216”]Or wait for someone to respond with Intermatic dimmers and a working solution for a Scene Controller to respond.
[hr]
What I meant to convey in my post is that this is likely to be vendor specific … and the answer to your question requires a person, experienced with the same hardware, to respond … that reduces the set of people that will be able to answer you.[/quote]

Will do! :slight_smile:

No one?

I think in theory that would work, as you really have Vera in the middle. Vera will receive the button presses from your scene controller, then send commands to your Intermatic dimmers (assuming the Intermatics are neither scene capable, nor instant-status capable).