LRM-AS and LTM-5 wiring revisited...

Hello! I’m new to this and am having a wiring dilemma. I’ve read the previous thread but it didn’t touch my issues. I have a 3way front hallway setup with a single switch at the beginning of the hallway and a double gang (?) at the front door which holds the other part of the 3way for the hallway and a separate switch on the double gang for the front porch light. I unconnected all three and it seems the single switch at the begining of the hall has no line at all, so the line must be coming from the front door double gang. Now the way the electrician wired was to have the line from the front porch switch continue to the hallway switch so he cut out the center black plastic on the line, wrapped it around the switch and continued the end to the hallway switch. I used a voltage tester and it seems that the line, the load and the traveller (red) all have current by the front door. With no switches connected there is no current at the single switch by the beginning of the hallway on the red traveler or either black wire. I hooked up the front porch light to an LRM-AS and it works great. I hooked the middle of the line to the black, the copper to the green (ground) and the white to the white (neutral) and the blue to the load. My problem is the three way. If I put a nut on the red on both ends I get power going the switch by the front door so the green LED lights up but it doesn’t work the light so I’m not sure the second black is the load. Meanwhile the other switch LED doesn’t even light up and I can’t seem to get power to it. Any suggestions? Should I connect the red (traveler) by the front door to the line coming off the front porch and use the red at the beginning of the hallway as my line?

Thanks,

Rob

The black wire with two exposed sections of copper bridging the two switches in the double gang box is your line/hot. There should also be a bundle of white neutrals in the same box.