Json via TCP/IP socket

I’m trying to send some very basic Json commands to my Mediaportal HTPC. This is possible after installing ‘wifiremote’ on top of MediaPortal.

Commands are sent from a client to WifiRemote. Depending on the type and content of the message, actions are invoked on MediaPortal or messages are sent back to the client. Each command is a separate JSON object (‘message’) that is delimited by carriage return and line break (\r\n).

Unfortunately it does not accept commands via HTTP but only via TCP/IP.

I’m really new to LUUP programming and TCP/IP sockets.

I’ve searched the fora but very difficult to get started.

Could someone give me an idea on what LUUP code is needed to send (for example) {“type”:“command”, “command”:“pauze”} to wifiremote (on IP: XXX.XXX.XX.XXX:PORT).

Wifiremote can also receive incoming messages but as such these are not important for me.

Thanks!

You should be able to use the LuaSocket module for writing and reading sockets.

http://w3.impa.br/~diego/software/luasocket/introduction.html

Be aware that you really can’t block indefinitely waiting to listen to a socket, without some creative steps to work around the limitation.

Check this thread out for simple TCP IP characters

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=22854.0

Update : wmcCmd (with something like “command:pause”), 40500 (port #), 192.168.0.100 (with MediaPortal server), and possible change “\r” to “\r\n”

local wmcCmd = "YourCommand" local socket = require("socket") tcp = assert(socket.connect(192.168.0.100, 40500)) tcp:send(wmcCmd .. "\r") tcp:close()

Thanks for this!

I have tried to run the code below via 'test luup code" but I get “code failed” (and no pauze).

local wmcCmd = "command:pauze" local socket = require("socket") tcp = assert(socket.connect(192.168.1.40, 8017)) tcp:send(wmcCmd .. "\r\n") tcp:close()

I have checked if the TCP connection is up and this seems the case (from another system):