HVAC Commands

I am looking to make a scene activate when HVAC_OperatingState1 changes to “Heating” and another one when it switches back to “Idle.” (and in heating mode). I am just guessing at how to do this but since I am a complete newbie to this I’m lost. I found some similar code but only 1 thread that uses OperatingState1.

I was going to make an attempt at the code but the forum won’t let me. “Sorry, you are not allowed to post external links”.

I was basing my version off of this http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,7691.msg49514.html#msg49514

Also this code (once finished) would go in the Luup screen when creating a new scene?

Any help in getting down the right path is appreciated.

Here is what I’m trying right now.

I also added a “else return false” but it doesn’t seem to work.

Any ideas?

I can’t even get the variables to display in the log. I’m trying the following:

[code]luup.log(“Start Variable Dump*******”)

luup.log(luup.variable_get(“urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HVAC_OperatingState1”,“ModeState”,2))

luup.log(luup.variable_get(“urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_FanOperatingMode1”,“Mode”,2))[/code]

But get:

50 12/26/12 14:54:33.896 luup_log:0: ***************Start Variable Dump********************** <0x2d40f680> 01 12/26/12 14:54:33.896 luup_log interface 0x755e70 args 0 <0x2d40f680> 01 12/26/12 14:54:33.897 luup_log interface 0x755e70 args 0 <0x2d40f680>

Any help on what I’m doing wrong would be appreciated.

For the logging part, try putting the value of variable_get into a variable first, and then logging that variable as a separate call to luup.log()

variable_get returns 2 values. The first is the value and the second is a time stamp value when the value last changed.

luup.log also takes two values. The first is the string to log, and the second is the log level. I suspect that using one inside the other is causing the condition you are seeing.