Hoping New Hardware Coming Soon!

I have been hanging in here for almost 10 months waiting for new hardware. It’s good to see new firmware, but honestly the system is flawed when it comes to upgrades. Looking for your alternatives. Can we expect to see something soon?

I guess the question here is what would drive the need for new hardware? Everything We have seen from the roadmap so far has been indicating a drive towards a cheaper less powerful controller. At the same time, I am not observing any need for anything new on the hardware side maybe besides more RAM and more flash storage. I have been running my vera on a virtual machine with much more powerful hardware and can now confidently say that the CPU is not the bottleneck and that all the limitations of the vera is within it’s software. The devs are addressing the upgrade bricking issue due to the storage partitioning on the next release. Beyond this there is really no justification for any new hardware.

I look forward to the “new” as well but don’t forget that we will cover most of these flaws for our existing customers as well. We’re making huge progress when it comes to memory and fw upgrades management for all controllers, and fixes should come with the next firmware.

Yes, new hardware is coming and will cover anyone’s home automation needs.

3 Likes

And from my experience the VeraSecure really solves the RAM issue compared to the Plus (as I always have plenty free), but the flash storage is still a problem on all current models.

The only new hardware I could possibly think of wanting would be a zwave 700 radio. But nothing is preventing us from just getting a usb stick for it and add it to the vera when it gets released. No really the software/firmware revision is all I would want. For new customers, new hardware could definitely expand the market for mios but for us existing users, there is really nothing we could benefit from new hardware…