Home Energy Monitor Choices For US?

Total newby here. I’m curious about hardware choices for the US. The NorthQ looks good but doesn’t look like it’s available here? The Aeon HEM looks like the only other real choice right now? Something about G2 coming out but I’m not clear if that’s what I see for sale or it’s the G1, or what the difference is.

Thanks for any help.

Brultech. CurrentCost.

As futzle mentioned, brultech is one of them, also the TED5000. There are several threads about these and plug ins for them. I suggest you search the forum.

• Garrett

I did search but it helps when you have a direction so thanks for that. I thought the TED was a stand alone thing only.

So what I’m getting is that the Aeon is somewhat simplistic, can be somewhat inaccurate, and also difficult to get working.

The TED only comes with 2 CT’s. Each additional set is $84?

The Current Cost is hard to assess because they have very limited info. on their site.

The Brultech seems much more affordable. You can get teh Mono 100x package for a bit over $200, the Zigbee radio will communicate with Vera (through a plugin?), and it comes with a bunch of CT’s

And then run Datamine for good reporting.

Am I kind of on track here?

For the Brultech, you can go simple, and get an one-or-more ECM-1240 model with 7 Channels per node.

…or you can go nuts and get a GreenEye model and have 32 channels.

They aren’t as plug-and-play as most would like, so there’s a learning curve to get it going, along with the Wiring thats needed in the Main/Sub Panel (not everyone is up for doing this type of thing). A few users here have contributed screen-shots to make it a little easier. It’s also easier on a GreenEye than an ECM-1240, since the tools are newer.

That said, I’ve had both the ECM-1240’s, as well as the GreenEye models (what I run currently). They are very cheap if you’re looking to do measurement at a fine-grained scale.