Help with Tivo Telnet Plugin

Hi folks,

I am pretty new to Vera. I have made some progress creating my own IR plugins by modifying existing xml files, but now I am stuff trying to control my Tivo over Ethernet using telnet. Anyone want to help me get started with that? Are there any basic plugins that control something over telnet that I can start from?

Thanks!

You might want to see the previous comments in this thread:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,3437.0.html

also, for the Tivo, use something like the DirecTV plugin source from code.mios.com as a starting point, with the tweaks to make it “CRLF” instead of “RAW”
http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_directv-media-control

I know this thread is a few months old, but I started a TiVo telnet plugin.

I have it working, and it can handle the following remote buttons:

• TiVo
  • LiveTV
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Slow
  • Fast Forward
  • Rewind
  • Directional (up/down/left/right)
  • Select
  • Thumbs Up
  • Thumbs Down
  • Numbers (0-9)

I still need to add:

• Advance/Skip to tick
  • Replay
  • Record
  • Clear
  • Enter/Last
  • Zoom
  • Guide
    and a few others

Since there is no “close” for the socket, and TiVo seems to only allow one connection, there is a limitation that only one device can connect.

I might have to use something like the Denon proxy to allow multiple devices to connect.

@PurdueGuy,
If you wanted to let multiple things “talk” to the same TiVo, you could cutover to using the builtin LuaSocket library directly, instead of using the built-in TCP connection management.

http://w3.impa.br/~diego/software/luasocket/tcp.html

Then you can open/close at will…

You’d want to guard the connection logic (maybe use a [tt]pcall()[/tt] block), so you close out the sockets in all the cases, as well as use [tt]settimeout()[/tt] to some realistic value. Other than that, it should be a simple thing to cutover to if you wanted to avoid the middle-proxy.

@PurdueGuy,