First impressions of VeraPlus (coming from SmartThings)

Coming from SmartThings, and having played with VeraPlus for a couple days now, I thought I’d post my initial impressions. (I should point out that I’m a software engineer, and that certainly influences how I see things.) Perhaps this will assist someone else considering the same move… (This post is copied/edited/pasted from a similar post I made on the smartthings forum.)

1. My first “Vera support” experience was many times better than ST. I called, someone answered, and not only did they seem interested in my problem, but they ALSO had a clue. Oh, and vera has a switch so they can remote into the local system and see/fix what’s going on. One phone call, and both issues (nest not authorizing and fibaro motion sensor not showing battery) were resolved within 20 minutes. (My average “report to fix” time with ST is > 2 days, and I still have open tickets over a year old today.)

2. The UI isn’t as bad as I thought it’d be. I suspect most people feel that the vera UI sucks because they think of the UI as a “remote control” thing, when it really should be a “set it up and don’t mess with it anymore” type thing. When used like that, it’s not so bad. (ST is still prettier, but it also crashes more often.) A HUGE difference is that the ST “UI” is purely a mobile app (with dev tools via a web browser.) On vera, the primary is via a web browser (and the mobile app seems like a poor afterthought.)

3. For setup/configuration ease of use, ST is better. It’s just easier to use. Thankfully, I shouldn’t have to set things up more than once with the Vera. (Unlike ST, Vera seems to offer migration tools when they sell new hardware.) This goes back to the last point with the UI, but with the same conclusion: once I’ve set things up, I shouldn’t have to use the UI much. (Even for remote control on my mobile device, I prefer using android widgets via “sharptools” for ST and “autovera” for vera.)