EcoVent Air Handler control

https://www.ecoventsystems.com

I just saw this today and I’ve been in contact with them. They have chosen to support ZigBee initially but told me they have intention to integrate with Vera as one of the major players in HA. What kind of integration remains to be seen.

I would think the ideal method would be on the TCPIP side with an API to allow Vera to command and receive status over an IP connection. Let the EcoVent controller perform all the sensor/vent control stuff and let Vera integrate it into the rest of the house and keep the direct load off Vera

i like the idea behind it, but it’s super expensive to implement.
you’ll need a controller, vent(s) for each room and their plugin/temp sensor units.
I would say 1 for each room.
depending on how big of a house you have, that could get really expensive.

For me personally, I would also want to try it out before i kept it. I’m not sure how effective it would be.
I’m not an HVAC expert, but i know there are concerns over static pressure increasing to much when closing off too many vents at once.

[quote=“mvader, post:2, topic:185548”]i like the idea behind it, but it’s super expensive to implement.
you’ll need a controller, vent(s) for each room and their plugin/temp sensor units.
I would say 1 for each room.
depending on how big of a house you have, that could get really expensive.

For me personally, I would also want to try it out before i kept it. I’m not sure how effective it would be.
I’m not an HVAC expert, but i know there are concerns over static pressure increasing to much when closing off too many vents at once.[/quote]