Code check (previous attempts don't work and I'm new to coding) [ANSWERED]

I’m using the following code to accomplish the following:

IF the nest is set to home AND the nest temperature is less than 70 deg F, THEN turn on a zwave switch (that controls the fireplace)

Would the following code accomplish that? I’m very new to coding and trying to figure it out and piece together what I can find :slight_smile:

local lul_tmp = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HouseStatus1", "GetOccupancyState", 19) if (lul_tmp == "Occupied") then local lul_tmp = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:TemperatureSensor1", "GetCurrentTemperature", 20) else end if (lul_tmp == "<70") then luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1", "SetTarget", {newTargetValue = "1"}, 43) else end

Close, but the detail does matter.
It would be more like this:

local occupancy = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HouseStatus1", "GetOccupancyState", 19)
if (occupancy == "Occupied") then
  local temperature = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:TemperatureSensor1", "GetCurrentTemperature", 20)
  if (tonumber(temperature) < 70) then
    luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1", "SetTarget", {newTargetValue = "1"}, 43)
  end
end

Points to note:

[ul][li]all device variables are strings and need to be converted for numeric comparison[/li]
[li]meaningful variable names improve code readability[/li]
[li]the book “Programming in Lua” is worth a read http://www.lua.org/pil/[/li][/ul]

You got close…

You seem to be having issue with the format of the if/then/else/end structure AND with conditional comparisons AND with variable scope AND with UPnP variable names versus action names…

First, the if/then/else/end structure…

The conditional “else” is optional… and can be omitted for clarity…
Also, the structures can (and in your case should) be nested…

What you have coded is:
IF the occupancy state is “Occupied” then read the temperature into lul_temp