Can I control my thermostat based on the real-time electricity rate?

Hi,

I am new to home control and would appreciate any insight you could give me into setting up my proposed scheme.

I pay electricity based on real-time cost and my electric company publishes the current rate on a web site
(il.thewattspot.com/PriceBanner.jsp, unfortunately there is no other feed) every 5 minutes.

Although the rates are currently very flat, they fluctuate greatly during the summer months. My goal is to adjust the thermostat based on the current electricity rate.

For this I would need to be able to read the current price from this very unreadable website. Is this something that the Vera can do? I assume that this is the hard part, and that it should be straightforward to then adjust the thermostat and other energy hogs in the house based on that information.

Thanks,

Lukati

Hi Lukati,

It’s possible, yes. As a first Lua program, it’s ambitious. HTML scraping is notoriously messy and there is always the risk of them changing the format, requiring you to change the scraper.

Designed right, this could become a generic tool for people whose electricity prices change dynamically. Users would just slot their own implementation in. For where I live, it’s just a function of time, but where you live, you would use the aforementioned scraper.

How are you with learning new programming languages? Are you willing to commit several days to learning what you need?

Corresponding JSON, XML, CSV feeds are at [tt]https://pachube.com/feeds/26392[/tt]

[tt]https://:@api.pachube.com/v2/feeds/26392.xml[/tt]

How about a Pachube plugin for Vera? :slight_smile:

… another example for the need of dynamic json files for devices.