Bed Time Lights Out

Is there a way to prevent a light from being turned on during certain hours of the day? I have a scene to shut the lights off at 9PM but I want to force them to stay off until 7AM. Unless say a smoke detector goes off.

I’m new to the Vera Automation, I just put my first z-wave switch in.

Thanks for any help you can provide

Can surely be done with the PLEG-Plugin from [url=http://rts-services.com/Vera/Plugin/PLEG/]http://rts-services.com/Vera/Plugin/PLEG/[/url].

[edit]Seems like I misunderstood your question at first. One solution would be a second relay. With no switch attached, it can’t be overriden. If you’re not electronically challenged, you may go the mysensors.org route and build your own switch, which can save you a lot of money. And eventually burn your house down ;D [/edit]

Light switches will send a signal to Vera to report change of state (immediately if instant status type or after being polled if not). Vera can then turn the light off again but I do not believe it can prevent it being turned on (unless anyone else knows different).

I think a fibaro relay on the permanent live to the switch could turn off all power to the switch but wouldn’t then be able to control the switch normally, so possibly 2 needed which is a squeeze in a back box and expensive way of doing it but I can’t think of another way. Possibly a momentary switch but I don’t have any experience if those.

If you wanted to go this way, you could use a double relay and use both contacts in series. one contact turns the supply on/off, the second contact can be controlled via the light switch.

PLEG is the best solution.

My problem with disabling lights during a certain time is what if you need that light during an emergency? Not all emergencies involve smoke!

How would you do this via pleg.
Bear in mind that the challenge is to prevent the lights being turned on at the switch.

How would you do this via pleg.[/quote]