Basic help

I suspect I’m missing something obvious, but I’ve struggled with this from day one with Vera.

I have a reasonably technical background (although I’m no developer) so I really can’t understand why I can’t get this to work.

Simply put, when we come home at night, and the lights have gone off automatically (because it’s late or whatever) I want the lights to come on.

I thought I had it pegged with my most recent attempt with PLEG:
Three triggers:
t1: Day or Night indicates night time
t2: House modes plugin has changed to Home
t3: Porch light is off

One condition:c1: t1 AND t2 AND t3

And one set of logic actions

The behaviour is that if you’re at home, with the home mode engaged, it’s dark, and you turn the porch lights off, PLEG immediately evaluates and turns them back on again.

The ‘problem’ as I see is that PLEG is not evaluating that the house mode has changed since we last checked, but that the house mode is home.

What I want is the trigger to either from any mode > home or (perhaps more usefully) away > home

Can’t say that it works only in ‘Away’ mode as we end up with a race condition.

Apologies that this is so basic, but I really can’t find anything in the docs I’ve read so far (and the editing in the current version of UI7 is rather different than that in the manual)

Any pointers would be fantastic.

Merry Christmas

C

First up, anything PLEG related, you need to post a Status Report.
That report gives us the entire picture of what is going on rather than focusing on what you might think is the problem, you will find that others will join in as well as we all have the same info and motive to help.
Agreed that there are diifernces between what the manual says and UI7 version, but the same logic applies and once you master PLEG then anything is possible.
HIH

Thanks! And yes, I’d like to stick at it
Status report attached, I hope!

Oh, and may be relevant, I’m not getting any notifications from it either.

Cheers!

C