3M-50 thermostat module / best way to communicaten via HTTP

I’m writing a plugin for my (three) Wifi 3M-50 thermostat’s. The thermostat API uses HTTP GET and POST requests that return JSON responses. The API seems fairly straightforward, with the limitation that the thermostat web server is single threaded. (so I’m assuming that if I keep a persistent TCP connection open to the thermostat that it would block other requests.)

As this is my first time doing any Luup development, I’ve got a handful of “Luup 101” questions that weren’t clearly answerable from the docs / example code. If anyone could give me a helping hand to get started, it would be greatly appreciated.

First, from reading the Luup docs and browsing the code, it appears there are several strategies for communicating via HTTP from a luup plugin:

1. Using luup.io.read/write to talk to a socket connection. However, it’s not clear from the doc what is the lifecycle of a socket connection. As there’s no luup.io.close, I’m assuming it’s persistent which rules it out due to the single threaded nature of the thermostat.

2. Call os.execute (“curl …”). This appears to be easiest to implement for me (easy to test communications using curl on command line :slight_smile: and curl implements a high-level HTTP protocol stack. However, this obviously incurs a lot of overhead due to starting a whole new process and I’m not sure how much of an impact this would be to the vera device.

3. Call luup.inet.wget. (i.e. like Guessed’s weather plugin) Looks like a nice option, but wget seems to only support GET not POST. (I believe the thermostat requires POSTS for some requests, but I need to check to see if I can “get way” with using a GET with a query string)

4. Using the lua socket.http library. (i.e. like the Sonos Wireless HiFi Music Systems plugin).